Aging With Dignity
Five Wishes Online
shopping cart
donate now
email newsletter sign-up
text resize

restore default size increase decrease

Five Wishes California

Five Wishes meets the legal requirements for an advance directive in California. Just like in 41 other states, you can use Five Wishes in California to express how you want to be treated if you are seriously ill and unable to speak for yourself, using a document that is easy to understand. All you need to do is check a box, circle a direction, or write a few sentences. Once it is signed and witnessed, your Five Wishes is a legal document. Additionally, the state of California has the following instructions regarding an Advance Directive that only applies to residents of certain institutions:

If in "skilled nursing facility," "a patient advocate or ombudsman, as may be designated by the Department of Aging for this purpose" must sign "as a witness, either as one of the two witnesses or in addition to notarization.

Cal Probate Code §§4675(a) (West 2004)

The form below is not included in Five Wishes because it is only required for residents of a "skilled nursing facility"

It is offered here as a helpful resource.

California Advocate or Ombudsman Form

--Excerpted from National Advance Directives: One Attempt to Scale the Barriers, by Charles P. Sabatino, Esq., National Academy of Elder Law Attorneys Journal, Volume 1, 2005

© 2015 Aging with Dignity. All Rights Reserved.